Hormones in Harmony

Living abundant joy through bio-psycho-spiritual balancing

Location: Ojai, California, United States

Welcome to Hormones in Harmony where I shall share pearls of wisdom gathered over two decades of consulting with the hormonally challenged. As a holistic nurse practitioner specializing in neuro-immune-endocrinology, I have merged my western education with eastern philosophies, but the key to being a successful healer is to embody physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. At 54, married for 32 years with two grown children, I strive to keep my Hormones in Harmony with a positive attitude, a loving environment, and faithful consumption of Genesis Gold.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009


I hope this finds you enjoying this blessed summer. Yes, “blessed”. For even in the midst of this economic recession…there is a great transformation occurring. It is during still times, hard times, challenging times that we enter the chrysalis of spiritual transformation. Thing may not seem to be moving, but they are underneath the surface. Just as a caterpillar transforms into a butterfly during the seemingly quiescent cocoon phase, so are we transforming into our higher selves.

I should know this day well, but alas it snuck up on me. Today, we honor Saint Mary Magdalen. Thanks to Mary, I transformed. While writing LoveDance, I learned some deep spiritual lessons. As I wrote it, it would manifest in my life. I awakened to my Higher Self during the composition, editing and publishing of Book One.

Not fully realized, I began Book Two of the trilogy. I finished part one and then got stuck. I attributed my lack of inspiration to my inability to cook. Cooking for me is a passionate outlet, could be my Italian heritage J. We just “survived” a five month kitchen remodel, in which my precious stove was out of commission. No cooking, no writing…

Then finally my stove was installed. As soon as I baked my first luscious tart…chocolate hazelnut mouse tart with a fine hazelnut crust…a gourmet recipe that taxed my skills and those of my Viking….and my muse returned! Visions of book two flooded my awareness, yet my healing practice took up my time.

Once again lessons from my life. At this particular time I am grateful to be in witness of amazing strides by my brave patients who are growing in leaps and bounds. I always have known that we revisit lessons for our soul's growth and now the time was ripe to summarize what I was experiencing and witnessing. So for your kind review, I present:

The 7 Layers of Soul Lessons

1) Red Layer: represents first chakra. It’s all about survival. We struggle to make our way through tough life lessons. Most of humanity barely survives life’s lessons. Not yet searching for meaning, those of us who do make it celebrate our survival from dis-ease, loss, trauma, etc. It’s as if we fought a war and won. We honor survivors. If they can do it, then so can we.

2) Orange Layer: represents second chakra. It’s all about gathering the sweetness of the lesson and trying to move on. We look for meaning in the lesson—what we learned. We love the “enlightened sayings” of those who appreciate the sweetness of life. It makes us feel good to share our hard earned wisdom, to read about or watch others’ stories that seem to end happily. It gives us hope. Receiving the blessing of the lesson is where forgiveness begins.

3) Yellow Layer: represents third chakra. It’s all about balancing will and emotion. Although this is a deeper layer, it feels less than. You thought you learned your lesson and here it is like a bad rerun rearing its ugly head. You know you should feel better about the lesson, but fear creeps in as it repeats itself again and you try to will it away, move on, not stoop to just surviving as you did in the beginning. You try to count your blessings but the sweetness has bittered. Time to release your fear. This is the place most of us get stuck. This is what wears us out, when our adrenals crash, our health fails, we age, we wish to die.

4) Green Layer: represents the fourth chakra. It’s all about compassion…for self! Here we learn to love ourselves. There is an energy of gratitude for our humanness. This is the deepest level of forgiveness when we can be grateful for the players in the drama of our lives. Those who seem most enlightened exist here. They express compassion to others for they have learned self compassion. The beloved teachers and gurus have shown us how to be human and live in the heart. But more lessons are to come…

5) Blue Layer: represents the fifth chakra. It’s all about truth. Your truth. Fully digesting the lesson and expressing the divine truth of the lesson in your life’s work. You have grown tremendously from the first time you faced this lesson. When it repeats itself, you are able to graciously receive it and name its truth. Being embodied on earth gifts us with soul baring opportunities to know our selves intimately. This is when the teachers are quoted and become immortalized.

6) Indigo Layer: represents the sixth chakra. It’s all about insight. You now have deep insight into the lesson as your relive it a sixth time. Quickly you survive, receive the sweetness, release the fear, feel compassion for yourself, express the truth of the lesson and become the gnosis….the experiential divine. You need not speak your truth to BE your truth. You exist in harmony with all life, following spirit deeply into this lesson without struggle. Yet one more time you will revisit the lesson in this life or another or perhaps beyond the human existence…one more time…

7) Violet Layer: represents the seventh chakra. It’s all about multidimensional connection. This is where Heaven meets Earth in you. You now have the Divine perspective. You understand the purpose of your humanity. You appreciate your emotions as vehicles to higher, deeper manifestations of Love. You are truly enlightened in regards to this lesson. Finally you are free…

Time for another sacred lesson.

May you be blessed with abundant health, happiness and peace,


Deborah Maragopoulos MN FNP
Intuitive Integrative Medicine
Healer, Speaker, Author
LoveDance: Awakening the Divine Daughter


Post a Comment

<< Home